[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

Re: [tlaplus] Re: Potentially confusing behavior of a PlusCal algorithm

I am new to TLA+ (taking another go at playing at it since my last time) and was working through the tla-video's.
I got up to the exercise related to the Die Hard Water Jug problem.
I solved it using PlusCal just to see if i could before looking at the rest of the video on the problem.
Once I had it running I went back and improved what I had created and ran into this behavior.

It appears to me the generated TLA+ is using a primed identifier when it shouldn't be.
If i swap the lines around marked "Line A" and "Line B" one oriention works and the assert for `big /\ 4` works the other swapping lines does not trigger than alert.
I did some searching and found the github issue
"PlusCal translation incorrectly depends on definition"
https://github.com/tlaplus/tlaplus/issues/338
This seemed related as it talked about primed and unprimed variables in the TLA+ translation.

This example worries me that the order of my statements in a block makes it behave different.
I have included the PlusCal code here.
Just paste it into a new spec generate new model and run it to see behavior.
The code below as pasted will not find the `assert big /= 4`
Which i believe means the line `/\ small' = big' + small` in TLA+ BigToSmall is primed access to big` which breaks it.
But swapping lineA and lineB around in the PlusCal it will stop on `assert big /= 4` behve as expected as it will use big and not big`.

```
EXTENDS TLC, Integers

\* Appears to be related issue https://github.com/tlaplus/tlaplus/issues/338
\* by reordering

(* --algorithm diehardJugProblem
variables small = 0, big = 0,
define
  TypeOK ==
    /\ small \in 0..3
    /\ big \in 0..5
end define;

begin
WhileLoop:
while TRUE do
  assert TypeOK;
  assert big /= 4; \* this failing means we got to goal

either
    FillBig:
    big := 5;
  or
    FillSmall:
    small := 3;
  or