[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

[tlaplus] Re: TLAPS proof of increment and update

I am not an expert not even intermediate with TLAPS so I might be completely wrong but I found 2 interesting things in this proof. 
  1. You do not need the condition /\ valX.ts <= clock \*<-this is required only for proof  for TLAPS to prove your theorems.
  2. Clock is the main culprit of the proof not working properly.
I don't know if I can explain this very well but the obligation that fails in the proof is <2>1. If we perform a symbolic execution of the states, we know that Init => SafetyProperty. This is obvious. Now, in any state other than init, we start with an assumption that safety property holds so, (valX.val > valY.val) => valX.ts >= valY.ts  is true. Now if you apply the operations of the Inc state, clock becomes clock+1 and valX becomes [valX.val+1, clock+1].  Now replace these changes in the safety property which should hold true. We get:

(valX.val+1 > valY.val) => clock+1 >= valY.ts 

With any of the assumptions you started with, it is not possible to prove this. This problem goes away when you add valY.ts <= clock because suddenly the proof assistant has another assumption it can use with the Inc state.

On Monday, April 12, 2021 at 9:19:11 PM UTC+2 smruti...@xxxxxxxxx wrote:

Hi,

I have been trying different proofs with TLAPS. In the spec attached in this conversation, I tried a simple example of increment and update of two variables. That is, Increment the first variable at a given time and then update the second variable with the incremented value of the first variable at a different time.

This spec has two variables - valX and valY. valX and valY are represented as a record with two fields: val that can take Natural numbers and ts as timestamp associated with it. We use a global clock for time.