[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

Formal methods for the application programmer

I've been of the impression that using formal methods would be tedious and difficult, and yet would primarily be useful or important for complicated concurrent utilities such as transactional databases.

Thus, as an application developer, I'd use services such as a database which perhaps itself might make use of formal methods in its implementation, but formal methods wouldn't be relevant for me directly.

However, how do I know when I'm using a service such as a transactional database correctly?

For example, suppose I query the balance of my checking and savings accounts to find out how much money I have.  Naturally, if I were to do that query in a single transaction I'd get the right total, but if I were to incorrectly query the checking account and savings account balances in separate transactions I could get the wrong answer if a transfer happened to occur between queries.

1. start with $300 in checking and $700 in savings
2. query checking account balance: $300
3. transfer $100 from savings to checking
4. query savings account balance: $600
5. my calculated total: $900

This is obvious in a simple example, but in a more complicated situation I might not notice that I haven't set the boundaries of my transaction correctly.

How to find out if my code is correct?

I have the classic concurrent code dilemma of not being able to rely on testing (it's unlikely that a transfer will happen at just the wrong moment for the bug to be demonstrated), nor on inspection (each part of the code looks fine, it's only when one notices that the combination is incorrect that one can see that there's a problem).

Can formal methods help?  Would they be difficult?

To look at a concrete implementation, in _javascript_ programming, promises have been becoming popular.

E.g.,

Promise.join(
  fetch_checking_balance(),
  fetch_savings_balance(),