[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

Re: "Partial" Functions

I sent a mail to Leslie Lamport about this topic. He kindly asked me to post our messages.

First of all I am an engineer, not a mathematician.

In France, during all my education after the elementary school, from the age of 11 in 1969 to the age of 23 in 1981, I was taught "mathématiques modernes" (http://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mathématiques_modernes <http://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mathématiques_modernes> ), in the direct line of Bourbaki.

There was a clear difference between "une fonction" (a function) and "une application" (a total function). When we studied a function, the first thing to do (the first question of the exercise) was to define the "domaine de définition" (domain) of the function.

I retrieved my course notes from my first year post high school (I was in class of "mathématiques supérieures" - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Classes_Préparatoires <http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Classes_Préparatoires> ).
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
Definitions.

Let E and F be sets.

. A graph is a sub-set of E \x F.

. A "relation" (binary relation) between E and F is a triple (E,F,G) where G is a graph from E \x F.

. A "fonction" (function) f is a "relation" (E,F,G) for which the following

holds:  if (x, y) \in G and (x,y') \in G then y = y'.

. The "domaine de définition" (domain) of a function f is D(f) = {x \in E:  \E y \in F : (x,y) \in G}

. An "application" (total function) is a function f for which the following holds: D(f) = E. In other words it is a "relation" for which the following holds: \A x \in E : \E! y \in F such that (x,y) \in G. Therefore, we can write y = f (x).

[In France, we use \E! for "there exists one and only one"]

Property

For each "fonction" (function) there is a related "application" (total function).

[Today I realize that "the" related one was the one with the "biggest" domain.]