[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

Re: [tlaplus] asserting that the final state is reachable

Hi Sara,

if I understand correctly, you have your "liveness" formula as a conjunct of the specification and also as the property you make TLC verify, so you really have TLC check if the implication

Init /\ [][Next]_vars /\ Liveness => Liveness

holds. This must obviously be true. What you probably meant was including the fairness condition that you have in the spec, and checking a liveness property such as

<>(state = "terminated" /\ pending = 0)

or perhaps (assuming you have several "places")

<>(\A p \in Places : state[p] = "terminated")

or similar. This will probably lead you to include fairness on more actions than just the final one in your specification.

Hope this helps,
Stephan

On 7 Sep 2017, at 11:09, Sara Hamouda <sara...@xxxxxxxxx> wrote:

Hi,
   I am new to TLA+ trying to get my head around temporal properties and safety proofs. I want to learn how to assert that the final state of my finite system is reachable. I am not sure if temporal properties are adequate for enforcing this assertion, but I decided to give them a try.

A bit of context: the specification I am writing is for the 'finish' construct in the X10 language, which implements a termination detection protocol. As an example, the following 'finish' block sends an asynchronous task to each place (i.e. process) to print "Hello from: place x". Behind the scenes, finish waits for a termination message from each place. When all messages are received, finish terminates.
----  finish example start ---
finish {
     for ( p in places)  at (p) async {
            print("Hello from: " + p);     //hello messages appear in arbitrary order
     } 
}
print ("bye");    // bye is printed after all hello messages
--- finish example end ---

I wrote a specification that allows 3 states for finish, init, working, and terminated: