[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

Re: [tlaplus] Spec Review Request

Hi Jamie,

>>we get some guarantees of atomicity from the underlying tools (Phoenix/Elixir/Erlang) but questioning those assumptions (and our understanding of those assumptions) would be a good exercise.

Explicitly capturing the assumptions is a very important part of the process.   For example, I too built several systems using Erlang (at Amazon from 2006 to 2010; I can't reveal which systems), so I have some (albeit dated) knowledge of incorrect assumptions about that environment.  For example, if you are using the send/receive operators of Distributed Erlang (not just local/send receive), then it's worth reading this paper:
   A More Accurate Semantics for Distributed Erlang [2007]

The paper starts by honestly admitting that "Since ... Erlang starts in industry, and not in a university, Erlang is very much defined in terms of its implementation".  It then describes the drawbacks of lack of a formal specification for Erlang (quote: "doing verification without formal semantics is very hard"), and some of the consequences.  

The consequences boil down to application authors making incorrect assumptions.  As an example, the authors cite two other papers that show how incorrect assumptions about handling of network partitions were the cause of 2 serious bugs in the original leader-election algorithm in Erlang's standard library.  (Sidebar: IIRC, that algorithm was written by members of the Erlang engineering team or researchers with close links to the team -- i.e. people with the best knowledge of the implementation of Erlang.  However, it's been 10+ years since I read those papers, so I might be misremembering.)