[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

[tlaplus] Best practices / advise on (de)structuring specs (modularize)

Hi,
I am still new to TLA+. I started by watching the Video Course and plan to read the book Specifying Systems next.

While playing around with a toy specification I made the following observation:
Why do the following two variants results in different numbers of states although they seem identical?
Variant 1 (Destructured/Decoupled):
\* Inform others what our current LSN is
GossipCurrentLSN(receiving_nodes, currentLSN) ==
    /\ LSNGossipReceived' = [node \in Nodes |-> IF node \in receiving_nodes THEN LSNGossipReceived[node] \union {CurrentLSN} ELSE LSNGossipReceived[node] ]

\* Create a LSNRequest from the source
RequestLSNs(requester) ==
    \E receiving_nodes \in SUBSET (Nodes \ {requester}): \* can be empty set, simulating that nobody might receive the request
        \* request contains our NodeId, the currentLSN and any gaps
        LET request == <<requester, Gaps[requester]>>
        IN
        /\ ReceivedLSNRequests' = [node \in Nodes |-> IF node \in receiving_nodes THEN ReceivedLSNRequests[node] \union {request} ELSE ReceivedLSNRequests[node] ]
        \* Model that currentLSN gossip is piggy-backed when requesting LSNs
        /\ GossipCurrentLSN(receiving_nodes, LSNs[requester])
        /\ UNCHANGED <<CurrentLSN, LSNs, Gaps, LSNsReceived>>

Variant 2:
\* Create a LSNRequest
RequestLSNs(requester) ==
\E receiving_nodes \in SUBSET (Nodes \ {requester}): \* can be empty set, simulating that nobody might receive the request
\* request contains our NodeId, the currentLSN and any gaps
LET request == <<requester, Gaps[requester]>>
IN
/\ ReceivedLSNRequests' = [node \in Nodes |-> IF node \in receiving_nodes THEN ReceivedLSNRequests[node] \union {request} ELSE ReceivedLSNRequests[node] ]
\* Model that currentLSN gossip is piggy-backed when requesting LSNs